FCB was established in 1982 as a result of the consolidation of 14 independent banks in the Province of Bohol. FCB was organized by a group of Filipino entrepreneurs and professionals who combined a broad experience in business and banking in the Philippine countryside. The consolidation, the first in the country, resulted in the conversion of these rural banks into branches of FCB.

In 1993, FCB started branching out of Bohol. The opening of FCB Mandaue Branch was followed by the establishment of branches in many parts of Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.

In December 1996, the Securities and Exchange Commission approved the bank's amendment to operate as a private development bank in accordance with Republic Act 7906, otherwise known as the Thrift Bank Act of 1995.

Today, FCB is one of the leading private development banks in the Philippines. Our capital adequacy ratio, a key financial indicator of strength in the banking industry, is higher than the average of the top five commercial banks and is purely tier 1 capital. The bank has consistently been profitable and provided adequate returns to its shareholders while practicing corporate social responsibility through its outreach projects in healthcare, livelihood, education, and environment.

FCB currently has 81 branches and 54 Branch-Lite Units nationwide, and is scheduled to open more locations in various parts of Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.